Phew! Back in the saddle.


hellboyinked

Finally getting back into blog mode. It has been too long!

Wrapped up some work for White Wolf and Green Ronin Publishing. Rush! Rush! Rush!

Since my last post, I’ve run a few sessions of the sketch group. Most of them have taken place at the Barnes and Noble here in Manchester, though last weekend, I went to Portsmouth and met with friends, 

Vita Mechachonis ( http://vitamechachonis.blogspot.com/ ), Gina Perry ( http://ginaperry.typepad.com/ ), and Robert Squiers ( http://www.robertsquier.com ). 

I had a blast looking through their sketchbooks and noodling in my own over coffee at “Breaking New Grounds” in Market Square. An excellent cuppa and terrific company! All three are talented children’s illustrators whose work I look forward to seeing more of.

My friend, Gareth Hinds, came up to Manchester to present his work to the NH Creative Club. Gareth has created graphic novel adaptations of such classic literature as Beowulf, King Lear, The Merchant of Venice, and Bear Skin. He is currently hard at work on The Odyssey. It was a terrific event and Gareth put on a stellar demonstration. You can learn more about his work at www.garethhinds.com

I spent a lot of time as the chairperson for that event and I was very happy to see it turn out so well. Thank you, Gareth!

I also visited a couple of comic shows in the past few weeks and had a blast. One thing I learned is that comic collectors are not so terribly excited to buy prints drawn from my RPG work. I figure it is time to dig into my own love affair with comics and do some drawings of my favorite characters, especially if I want to offer prints and private commissions to comic collectors at future shows. 

I just completed a pin-up for a friend’s comic book which will be out soon. I look forward to sharing it with you here when it has hit the stands. This small project got me to thinking about doing some short comic stories for anthology-type books. A friendly author has offered to toss me a short script to play with. I am thinking to do it in color or at least in full grayscale. Comics are what drew me to illustration in the first place. Now that I’ve developed a bit of skill, I should be able to have some  real fun with sequential art in the future. I am really looking forward to getting started. 🙂

It turns out that the nation celebrated my birthday with turkey and cranberry sauce this year. 😉

Yep, My 33rd birthday fell on Thanksgiving this year. I share it with my twin brother( Josh ) , Jimi Hendrix, and Bruce Lee.

My wife got me the latest Edition of the Spectrum Annual ( The Best in Contemporary Fantastic Art). What a beautiful book as always. Some of my friends managed to get their work featured in it this year which I thought was very exciting. I may just give it another go this year. Who knows, maybe I might make it into its prestigious pages some day.

This Monday evening I am presenting my work along with a demonstration of my digital workflow at the December meeting of the Manchester Artists Association. I prepared my father’s laptop with the necessary software and the driver for my Wacom Tablet. I am looking forward to it! I hope the artists who will attend will enjoy it. I hope to de-mystify some of the concepts of digital painting while cracking the occasional self-deprecating joke. 🙂

In my opinion, and one that is shared and informed by many others, digital tools are just another medium in which to work. Since my own approach more or less bridges traditional and digital technique, it is my goal to illustrate that common ground during my talk. 

I am praying that they have some method of projecting what is on the computer screen so that the members can see what I am doing. Otherwise, I envision about a dozen artists huddled around my shoulders trying to catch a glimpse…LOL.

Well, nothing more to report today. Rest assured, that I will be a lot more attentive to this journal in the coming days.

I am working on a character portrait for a friend at the moment. I am really pleased with how it is turning out so far. I’ll be sure to post it here when it is finished.

Later, all!

Leave a Reply

