New DW ( aka Daily warm-up) for January 12th. A Pretty Bird…


 

A Pretty Bird...

Today’s blobby shapes evolved into this lovely lady-bird. 

Got some sketching done while waiting for my car to be inspected.

Plenty of work to be done around here which is most awesome. I’m pretty excited by the designs I’ve been coming up with on my latest batch of assignments for Paizo. They are coming along swimmingly so far.

We’ll see if the final execution matches my aspirations for them. 🙂

I read an interesting article over at Jon Schindehette’s blog, Art Order. It is an eye-opener that reminds folks that , as illustrators, we are competing with the best artists out there, not the worst. If you want a seat at the table of professional success, you need to be the hungriest and sing the hardest for your supper.

Far from discouraging, it makes me want to work all the harder to raise my game and bring everything I have to my work. I know that other readers of his blog walked away with similar drive.

As always, I am grateful for Jon’s candor. Have a read of the article over at his blog.

Well, back to the grind. Miles to go before I sleep and all….

Leave a Reply

