Daily warm-up for February 2nd and an art preview!


 

Clobbering Time

 

A bit of silliness today.

In other news—-

Phoenix Interactivve LLC has  released a few preview images of cards I’ve had the pleasure of completing for their upcoming release of the “Sands of Oblivion” set for Warlord 4th Edition’s  Collectible Card Game.

These mark my first professional forays into working with acrylics. 

With this set, I was trying out different methods of painting… 

Glazing on top of grayscale underpainting.

Dress--copyright 2010 Phoenix Interactive LLC

 

Glazing on top of colored underpainting.

Tra'Kelt copyright 2010 Phoenix Interactive LLC

 

Taking a painting and finishing with digital tools.

G'rath Firefist copyright 2010 Phoenix Interactive LLC

 

Each gave a slightly different character to the work and I’ve since settled upon watercolor finished with acrylics which is the method I employed on my recent work for Paizo.

I believe I will stick with this approach for the foreseeable future as it offers the best blend of flexibility and delicacy for the way I prefer to work. My work tends to be heavily drawing-based and much of my painting technique tends to preserve the drawing for the most part.

Examples of that will be forthcoming as soon as a preview makes it to the internet. 🙂

In the meantime, I hope you enjoy these early explorations of working style.

If you would like to learn more about the Warlord card game, head on over to http://www.warlordccg.de/blog/

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

